District staff provide direct instruction to students identified for Primary Talent Pool services. 

Ms. Shannon Jones, Primary Talent Pool resource teacher, travels to each elementary school and meets with small groups of PTP students on a regular basis.

Lessons are aligned to the National Association of Gifted Children's standards and are designed to develop creativity, problem-solving and critical thinking strategies.

Buckner Elementary Coordinator: Richard Parrott - richard.parrott@oldham.kyschools.us This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Camden Station Elementary Coordinator: Dana Corson - dana.corson@oldham.kyschools.us This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Centerfield Elementary Coordinator: Kyle Patterson - kyle.patterson@oldham.kyschools.us This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Crestwood Elementary Coordinator: Danielle Doellings - danielle.doellings@oldham.kyschools.us This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Goshen Elementary Coordinator: Dana Graham - dana.graham@oldham.kyschools.us This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Harmony Elementary Coordinator: Shannon Pfaff - shannon.pfaff@oldham.kyschools.us This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Kenwood Station Elementary Coordinator: Katie Garrett - mary.garrett@oldham.kyschools.us This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

LaGrange Elementary Coordinator: Melinda Hadley - melinda.hadley@oldham.kyschools.us This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Locust Grove Elementary Coordinator: Austin Collins - austin.collins@oldham.kyschools.us

Primary Talent Pool fall nomination window for students in grades 1-3 will close the last Friday in September. If you would like to nominate your child, please download the PTP Parent Nomination Form, complete and return to your child’s teacher. Keep in mind a full year must pass from the last time your child was screened for PTP. The next opportunity for PTP screening is in the spring.

The state of Kentucky defines Primary Talent Pool (PTP) as "a group of students who possess demonstrated or potential ability to perform at exceptionally high levels in the primary years (grades K-3)." These students may be referred to as high-potential learners. High potential learners are defined as students who learn and comprehend at a faster pace and more complex level than their age peers. These students often acquire skills earlier and progress at an accelerated rate. The purpose of selecting students to participate in a PTP is to provide early interventions for those students whose talents must be nurtured in order for those talents to fully develop.

A minimum of four criteria is required as evidence that students should participate in the Oldham County Schools' PTP. Informal and formal evidence is gathered by teachers and other school staff, gifted personnel, and parents. The evidence is then reviewed by the school’s Primary Review Committee and a decision is made regarding inclusion. Specifically, four of the following pieces of evidence are needed for placement in PTP:
  • Primary portfolio (collection of evidence demonstrating student performance)
  • Inventory checklists
  • Parent interview or questionnaire
  • Available formal test data
  • Anecdotal records
  • Primary review committee recommendation (required)
  • Previous PTP/GT identification in another state

Students are selected for PTP in the fall and spring of each school year. A kindergarten screening process combined with a nomination process for first, a second and third grade student ensure a continuous, on-going review and provides multiple entry points into the PTP.

Once identified for PTP, the classroom teacher is primarily responsible for seeing that the individual needs of every student are met through differentiated instructional practices. The school counselor, GATES Coordinator, and GATES Resource Teacher are available to help with strategies and resources. (List of PTP common service options.)
Regardless of whether a student is or is not in Primary Talent Pool in no way indicates whether he/she will be identified for gifted and talented services in fourth grade. All students considered for gifted and talented educational services must be formally identified using multiple criteria different from those used for Primary Talent Pool.